“Trump’s Revised Immigration Ban Exempts Iraq”


“Employers will need to exercise caution and defer travel by foreign national employees from the six countries listed in President Donald Trump's revised executive order.

“Immigration and travel is banned from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen for 90 days, beginning March 16.

“The order is a modified version of a previous order issued Jan. 27…that banned immigration and travel from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

“Iraq has been removed from the list, reportedly for diplomatic reasons.

“Additional changes made to the original order address legal questions raised by federal courts and include explicitly specifying that the restrictions do not apply to visa holders, legal permanent residents and dual citizens.

“…Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary John Kelly said the order is meant to address ‘long-overdue concerns about the security of our immigration system.’ He added that the DHS intends to ‘undertake a rigorous review of our visa and refugee vetting programs’ with the affected countries during the temporary suspension of immigration and travel.

“Implementation will be phased in over the next two weeks…

“…The executive order also calls for establishing enhanced screening procedures for visa issuance and once again suspends the Visa Interview Waiver Program, requiring that nearly all individuals seeking a temporary visa undergo an in-person interview."

To read the full article, please click here.